h1

Building on a Budget…why BYOS is your best friend

March 8, 2008

The main goal of this blog, as I’m sure some of you are aware about, is playing VS on a budget. While I will admit that my cardpool is fairly large, it mostly consists of older sets, no longer silver legal, and is in no way as complete as many others happen to be (I will admit that at one point, I heavily invested in DLS, but still only came out with 1 copy of Mobilize). While a limited cardpool may make it difficult to put together those awesome Tier 1 builds you always hear, you can still get a lot out of those cards, and out of the boxes that now go for as little as 20 dollars.

UDE has sanctioned in the past, and will hopefully do so again on the future, the BYOS format. It’s my #1 favorite format simply because I’m able to get the most use out of all my cards, and also, really makes you think up some new and interesting combo’s that you may not truly have seen before. I know I myself have had that happen to me on more than one occasion. A classic example would be when I was building my Who’s exhausted deck. While searching for some “for the turn” atk modifiers, I came upon a gem of a card that was within the set and that I remembered scoffing at before because, 1) it had slightly odd art, and 2) I had neglected to read the whole card, and just noticed the +2 atk, instead of;

Flight, range, and +2 atk for the turn. Yes please!

And thus, I challenge all my readers. Pick a set, or even just your favorite team, and see if you can’t come up with some awesome stuff that doesn’t need so much legacy or rare support, and rather is just a bit of ingenuity taken a long way.

Hope you guys come up with fun stuff.

Leave a Reply

